Carolina BBQ Sauce

So the other day I made pulled pork. As it was cooking away in the crockpot while I worked, a thought hit me. I really didn’t feel like the “traditional” sweet red sauce. I was really craving something more vinegary ~ or as many know it~ Carolina BBQ sauce.

When we lived in Austin, I often purchased the Salt Lick’s BBQ sauce which had a vinegar undertone. It was my absolute fav. Now, I know I can probably buy it online, but that is NOT cheap folks! Enter this recipe.

As you can see, we didn’t like it at all. Not one bit.

Yeah, obviously that was a total lie. It is amazing. IF you like vinegar. If not, skip this one 🙂

  • 1/4-1/3 c. prepared yellow mustard
  • 1 c. light brown sugar
  • 1.5 c. apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne
  • 1/2 tsp soy sauce
  • 2 Tbsp molasses
  • 1 Tbsp Worcestershire
  • 2 Tbsp butter
  • 2 tsp liquid smoke
  • 4 tsp cornstarch
  • 4 tsp water

In a medium sauce pan, mix all ingredients except the cornstarch & water. Bring to a boil. Turn down to simmer. In a small dish mix the cornstarch & water until well combine. Slowly drizzle the cornstarch mixture into the sauce pan while constantly whisking the mixture (so as to avoid clumping). Simmer until the sauce thickens (just a few minutes). Then cool and store in the fridge.

We used this with pulled pork that I made in the crockpot. Loved it. Will certainly make it again!

Leave a comment

Filed under Sauces

Leave a Reply

