Wheat Irish Soda Bread

I based the bread off of a recipe from this website. It was excellent! As in, it stayed FRESH for 4 days.
Usually when I bake homemade bread, we can eat it “as bread” day one and then after that it turns to toast 🙂 But THIS bread stays really moist for several days longer. I’m definitely going to add this to the rotation!

photo(29)

I made a few minor modifications that I detail below…
Ingredients:

•3 cups all-purpose flour
•1 cup whole wheat flour
•¼ cup light brown sugar
• 2 teaspoons baking powder
•1 teaspoon baking soda
•½ teaspoon salt
•6 tablespoons cold unsalted butter
•2 large eggs
•1 cup greek yogurt, fage brand 2% PLUS about 1/2 c. skim milk/white vinegar mixture

Instructions:

Preheat oven 375. Get baking sheets ready. I used light colored aluminum and lined with parchment.

In my kitchen aid bowl, I mixed the flours, sugar, baking powder, baking soda & salt. Then I cut in the butter & used my hands to mix it in (until it reaches coarse crumb stage).

In a large mixing cup, I combine 1 c. 2% greek fage yogurt with 1.5 tsp white vinegar & 1/2 c. skim milk. I stirred to combine. Then added in the eggs. I incorporated the yogurt mixture into the flour mixture. Mine was still too dry at this point, so I added more milk, Tbsp by Tbsp until it hung together (but wasn’t “wet”). Note. the original recipe called for 1.5 c. of buttermilk. I just didnt’ have any on hand 🙂

Turn the bread out on a floured counter top and kneed a few times (don’t OVER kneed). Then divide dough into two round loafs. Place on parchment. Cut a “X” or cross in the top of each loaf (approx 1/2 to 1 in deep).

Bake @ 375 for 35 min. until the loaf is browned and you hear a hollow sound on the bottom when you tap it.

note. the original recipe called for brushing with egg and topping with sugar. I wanted to use it for a savory dish ~ so I omitted. It was definitely “browned” enough for our liking!

We are on day 2 of this bread and it’s still super moist~ which is great~ b/c so often homemade bread dries out so quickly.

Leave a comment

Filed under Breads

Leave a Reply

