What we ate this week

I cooked A LOT this past week and we loved it all. I figured I better document for weeks when I have far less inspiration

Friday: Cod & Veggies in Foil

photo 5

Saturday: Greek Cucumber Salad

photo 4

Sunday: brought apple crisp to a friend’s house for dinner

Monday: Meatloaf a la Pioneer Woman ~ delish (make sure to bake on a broiler pan to keep the bacon from getting soggy)

*I made some edits to this dish… see below.

photo 2

photo 1

Tuesday: Asian Noodle Bowl

Base: Soba & Rice Noodles (boil & flash chill); Sauce: I had made this last week…so I don’t quite remember… but it’s soy sauce, lime juice, sriracha, maybe some rice wine vinegar, sugar…just google asian salad dressing and then the veggies I used were: red & yellow bell peppers, chives, radishes, and parsnips. I would have used carrots & cucumbers if I had them. And then topped with cilantro I was originally inspired by this dish.. you can tell I vastly departed!

photo 3

Wednesday: Potluck with small group brought Greek Panzanella Salad

Thursday: Fajitas I marinated the chicken in lime juice, olive oil, garlic, cumin, and jalapenos for 3 hours. It was excellent on the grill! I also made homemade corn tortillas (so easy, corn flour & water). They were far superior to the store bought kind. Now I just need to get a tortilla press… hmm 🙂

Friday: Leftovers

 

*Meatloaf Recipe

  • 1/2 c. half & half
  • 4 pieces gfree bread
  • 1/2 c. gfree bread crumbs
  • 2.5 lbs ground beef
  • 1/2 c. freshly shredded white cheddar cheese
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 1/3 c. fresh flat leaf parsley
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1/4 c. finely diced onions
  • 4 eggs
  • 10 slices bacon

sauce (next time I’ll make a batch and a half of this for dipping!)

  • 1/2 c. ketchup
  • 2 tsp brown mustard
  • sriracha
  • 1 tbsp worcestershire

Combined all of the meatloaf ingredients (except bacon). Wrapped in bacon as instructed by PW. Then topped with a thin glaze of sauce. Bake at 350 for 45 min. Slather on more sauce, bake again 20ish minutes. Let sit 10 minutes.

Next time, I think I’ll broil the top for awhile to get some crunch!

Leave a comment

Filed under Main Course, Weekly Menus

Leave a Reply

