Yellow Chicken Curry

Growing up, we didn’t eat “diverse” foods. In fact, we ate pretty much the same 15 or so meals every week. I think that a lot of families are like that. Work and activities get in the way of creative cooking. When people don’t “LOVE” to cook, then the familiar staples are easiest to prepare.

In my house, we typically ate: meatloaf, spaghetti, meat + potatoes, burgers, and every kind of casserole you could imagine. Some times SPAM even entered the picture… in the form of english muffin pizzas. I know. Sounds disgusting. If you don’t think about it and just taste it, it really isn’t that bad πŸ™‚ But I digress…

The most exotic thing on the menu… hard shell tacos. Can you believe that I didn’t even KNOW what a soft shell taco WAS until I was in 6th grade and went to taco bell with a friend’s family? Crazy!

Okay, back to the topic of the day. CURRY. When we lived in Austin, I had my very first bowl of curry from a place called Madam Mam’s. There was a location right across the street from our office and I went there often with friends. It was intimidating. I liked spicy things…but not to the degree that Thai food is usually spiced. One of my friends recommended the yellow curry. She said it was more mild. She was right. So tonight, after talking with a good friend who loves to cook Thai, I was inspired to make the dish for the first time. I’m happy to report it was insanely good. I’ll try my best to write out a recipe here…but please know, it was more of a add a dash of this and a splash of that to the pot kind of night. Season it to your own tastes and enjoy!Β 

photo(62)

Yellow Chicken Curry

  • 1-1.5 c. roasted chicken, rough chopped
  • olive oil
  • 1 large yellow onion, sliced
  • 2-4 bell peppers, varying colors, rough chopped
  • 1 cubanello pepper, rough chopped
  • 1 Serrano pepper, sliced
  • 8-10 small fingerling sized russet potatoes, cut into similar size pieces (I halved or quartered them)
  • 1 quart chicken broth
  • 2 cans full fat coconut milk
  • 1-2 Tbsp yellow curry powder (I used the full 2, but just add little by little to figure out your own tastes)
  • 1 in fresh ginger, grated
  • 2-4 Tbsp white sugar
  • 2 tsp honey
  • 2-3 Tbsp fish sauce
  • Salt & pepper to taste
  • Fresh chopped cilantro
  • Limes
  • Sriracha hot sauce
  • White rice for serving (I made 4 c. cooked for this receipe and it was a good ratio)

Drizzle EVOO in the bottom of a large pot. When the oil is hot, toss in the sliced onions and peppers. Cook for a few minutes until they just start to brown up. Add in the potatoes & chicken broth/stock. Bring to a boil & cook until the potatoes are almost cooked through and the stock has reduced some (6-8 min?). Add in the 2 cans of coconut milk, 1 Tbsp curry powder, 2 Tbsp white sugar, 1 in freshly grated ginger, 2 Tbsp fish sauce, and approx 1-2 tsp salt & 1 tsp pepper. Toss in the pre-cooked/baked chicken. Turn heat up to high and let the the curry with coconut milk reduce and thicken (15-20 min). When the curry is reducing, cook your rice. Mine took approx 20 min from start to finish during which time my curry was boiling away and thickening up and reducing πŸ™‚ At this point, I kept tasting and adding more seasoning. I added more sugar, curry powder, and fish sauce to balance the dish and increase the richness.

The curry will still be liquidy when it’s done, but it will have thickened up a little more toward a stew. You want the thicker broth, but still intact potatoes. That’s the goal πŸ™‚ Serve over white rice with some chopped fresh cilantro, 1/4 lime (juice squeezed on top) and delish Sriracha for extra heat if you want it! You could also add extra raw serannos if you really want some spice.

I absolutely loved this y’all. As in… I stuck my finger in the pot after putting away the leftovers just to get as much out as possible. As in I just pulled out another bite as I was typing up this recipe.

It’s definitely going in our regular rotation.

Leave a comment

Filed under Chicken, Gluten Free, Main dishes, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

